In the early 1960's plumbing installations throughout the State of Utah had no uniformity at all. It was difficult for contractors to bid jobs as inspections varied throughout the State. Inspections were being done on different codes. The State used the National Code. City and County inspectors made different interpretations of the same code. To try to get some uniformity the Utah Plumbing Heating and Cooling Contractors and the Labor Organizations invited the plumbing inspectors of the political subdivisions of the State to meet and write a State Plumbing Code. As a result, many meetings were held and inspectors from various parts of the State were invited to participate. A State Code was finally agreed upon and presented to the State Legislature for the Utah State Plumbing Code. As a result of these meetings, it was suggested by the Utah Pipe Trades Industry Committee that the inspectors form an organization to acquaint all inspectors throughout the State. So on July 12, 1962, this was accomplished. The table on the right is the list of the Presidents of UAPMO since its inception:

List of Past Presidents:

Name City Term(s)

Bill Bailey West Jordan City 2016

Bob Bennett Price City 2014, 2015

Paul Bernston Cache County 2012, 2013

Troy Johnson Utah State University 2010, 2011

Kathy LeMay-Royce Taylorsville City 2008, 2009

Stuart Murray Ogden City 2006, 2007

Tim Collings Salt Lake City 2004, 2005

Richard Butz Summit County 2002, 2003

Francis Duzenack City of Price 2000, 2001

Ralph Fredrickson Weber State College 1998,1999

Dennis Mertlich St. George 1996, 1997

Dave Levanger Carbon County 1994, 1995

Mike Durfee Tooele City 1992, 1993

Richard Carlile Park City 1991

Doug Weidauer Sandy City 1990

Walt Clock Farmington 1988, 1989

John Nelson Cache County 1985, 1986, 1987

Jerry Hansen Salt Lake County 1983, 1984

Vern Beal Murray City 1981, 1982

Bob Ferguson Salt Lake County 1980

Dean Lisonbee Salt Lake City 1978, 1979

Bob Compton State of Utah 1976, 1977

Ladd Scoffield Layton City 1974, 1975

Donald Yonkers Utah State University 1972, 1973

Ralph Hill Bountiful 1971

Horace Lloyd Ogden City 1969, 1970

Jay Lewis Utah County 1967, 1968

Bud Scarlet Salt Lake City 1964, 1965, 1966

Wallace Macintosh Salt Lake City 1962, 1963